All of us who currently work in the office jobs – no matter if it’s 9am-5pm or 3pm-11pm or whatever time frame you’re on – had our first, awkward days. Doing anything for the first time is usually quite an experience – and I think first office job is an interesting one to look at, because most of us have been there, or will be there at some point.

I was one of the lucky individuals who always knew exactly what I wanted to do in my life as a job. Events industry has been on my list since my early days at high school (when I was around 15 y.o). I guess I was quite good at observing my natural skills set/personality traits and what made me happy and excited to form the conclusion of my ideal future job. And so I followed this goal since high school – passed my exams, passed my IELTS (english language exam) and pursued my dream all the way to Glasgow to study Business with Events Management. 2 months after graduating, I’m sitting at my desk in the College – working in Marketing Team – Events department. Whoop whoop! First goal, achieved. Now I’m on track to grow my expertise in this area, and I genuinely enjoy every minute of it (well, most of the time).

But what I want to focus on today, is the things you experience in the environment you work in – open plan office and set hours. It was really something for someone who was used to student jobs – bars and boutiques – so lets get started.

  1. First day – you feel like you’re in the danger zone

    It’s weird enough to walk in to the room full of people who know each other, being the new member of staff. But to walk in to the room full of people who know each other, sit in front of their laptops, doing mystery things and don’t really acknowledge each other’s existence is pretty strange.
  2. You quickly develop a routine

    Regular 9am-5pm jobs certainly teach you how to create a routine around your day. Mine is setting up the alarm for 5.45am every morning – shower – getting dressed – getting a train at 6.49 – getting second train at 7.09 – and getting my breakfast at work at 8am!17453540_10212717809086444_900678957_o

  3. You need two separate wardrobes – one for work and one, well…not for work

    This point will probably not relate to everyone. Some people enjoy the smart/elegant outfits on the everyday occasions. I do sometimes as well, but certainly not enough to have enough smart clothes for 5 days a week. It was certainly fun to fill this gap, though!

     

  4. Open Space office makes you much more productive

    As weird as it felt at the beginning, I quickly got used to sitting next to people knowing that they can look in my laptop, and see my every step of work. That actually helps me to be more productive and prevents from getting distracted with sales on asos, or updates on my favourite travel blogs!

  5. You feel the urge to become healthier.

    That happened only when I started working in the office. I was always relatively healthy with my food (well, maybe not on my first year at the university when I stopped being vegetarian after 5 years and discovered bacon). When you are in the siting position most of the day, and your team has their own sweets cupboard (yep!), then you start thinking you need to find alternative ways to become healthier. Not something you think about when you’re running mental around the bar and come back home from work totally exhausted!17409724_10212715348784938_441592977_n

  6. You get creative with your lunches

    Again, this doesn’t apply to everyone. I like to cook so I make a ‘thing’ out of my lunch boxes for a full week. This relates to the point 6. I always prepare lunches for full 5 days on a Sunday afternoon. Some people get free lunches at work – but it still makes you celebrate this special moment of munching!

  7. Time can speed up and slow down (mainly seed up)

    We all know that, no matter if you work in the office or not. But the time issue at work can definitely define our stress levels.
  8. You get to know people in your office very fast.

    At the end of the day you spend 70% of your day with them. It’s mainly a good thing, as you can create friendships quite easily and effortlessly.

17475025_10212717737404652_868094593_o
9.Work makes you more self-confident

This is the most valuable point out of all of them. And I believe it to be true in most cases. Of course certain jobs can make us feel the opposite. But this is usually down to people we work with – in this case, you should probably rethink if you want to be there. But for most places, work can actually strongly contribute to our confidence levels. It can be stressful sometimes, but nothing makes us feel better than successfully finished, challenging task, delivering a great presentation, appreciation from your boss or just simply knowing that you’re an expert in what you do.

 

17439917_10212717859967716_804539879_n
10. Having nothing to do after work can be stressful!

This definitely does not apply to everyone. But if you’re similar to me – it will. After first week of work, coming home to find myself having nothing to do, no specific plans, started freaking my out. Obviously I could just chill and watch TV, but this just isn’t enough sometimes. Work is usually full of things you HAVE TO do, therefore you want to be able to come home and do things that you just WANT TO do. Because planning events is my job, planning my week and scheduling in all the activities, might just be the part of who I am!

One of my favourite ones are bikram yoga, dog walking and baking!

